Gum in My Hair

An embarrassingly honest blog

Weekend Full of Win March 9, 2009

Filed under: Ooooh, Shiny, Pretty — dulcedementia @ 11:17 pm

This weekend was just a delightful weekend full of delightful new things! And now I’m going to tell anyone who wants to read this all about it.

 

Friday night, I had a free ticket to see Eurydice at the Curious Theater Company down in the Golden Triangle, which I mentioned on Friday. Well, turns out that it was not just me, myself and I, but four other good friends.

 

We got drinks and sat chatting while we waited for the play to begin.

 

I’ll admit the first 10 minutes of the play had me a little skeptical. Things seemed a little overdone and over the top, but then Eurydice died and everything just got better from there. The actor who played Eurydice’s father was fantastic and I have to say that he was really what anchored the play and gave it the gravitas it needed.

 

Since it is a Greek tragedy, I was naturally a weeping mess by the end of the play (and I forgot Kleenex, so it wasn’t a pretty picture). After the lights went up and the ladies had sufficiently blown their noses and cleared the running mascara from under their eyes, we decided to head over to the Fainting Goat for a few drinks to decompress and talk a little more about the play.

 

There were two things that sort of bothered me while watching the play. The first was how the lead actress played so much off the emotions of the other actors. But not in a great way. When she was with her husband, she was sort of a shrill, bossy little girl. When she was with the devil character (in any of his three forms) her pitch went up and she became this ditzy, dumb bimbo. But when she was with her father, she was in her character completely. That is, she was still somewhat of an idiot and she was still demanding, but there was emotion behind her actions. With her husband and the devil, it felt like she was just a puppet.

 

The other thing that bothered me was the Devil character. He appears in human form as a sort of slimy salesman type and then in Hades as a man/boy and then as a full grown Devil/Rocky Horror Show reject. This devil character was purely comedic relief. The matter of the play is fairly grim and I guess the playwright felt it needed something funny to lighten the mood. I disagreed. I felt this character added nothing to keep the plot moving forward (except in human form) and his comedic interludes detracted from the beauty of the rest of the play. I was apparently in the minority as we discussed this over drinks, but oh well. I still think he was out of place. I’m a big girl; I can handle a play that’s serious the whole way through.

 

We had drinks and some snacks, and parted ways around midnight.

 

Saturday I decided was going to be my day of resting since I felt like I was starting to come down with a cold. I went and got acupuncture in the morning, bout some soup and juice at the grocery store, went home and hunkered down for the day. I watched a disk and a half of Twin Peaks and did laundry. Then went to bed at 10:30.

 

I’ve heard a lot of people say they liked the first season of Twin Peaks, but I have to say, I am loving the craziness that is going on in season 2. Although, you have to be very good at tracking about 15 different storylines in your head at the same time, which I am pretty good at. It’s probably why I am able to enjoy Lost so much as well.

 

Sunday, I awoke with a semi-spring in my step because today was the day I was going to play paintball for the first time!

 

I put on my layers of clothes and a hat and bounded out the door only to drive 40 minutes to a place located just past a junk yard on a dirt road in Dacono.

 

It. Was. Awesome.

 

First off, as with every other sport I have ever played in my life, I absolutely suck at it. I have horrendous aim and for some reason, even though I am remarkably short, I cannot seem to keep my head tucked down far enough, resulting in me getting shot in the face a few times.

 

I would like to say I got better as the day wore on, but that is not the case. I just got better at finding things to hide behind. I actually spilled ¼ of my paintballs on the ground when I reloaded and didn’t secure the cap well enough. You could actually hear the “wah, wah, wah” over the roar of bullets.

 

There was one game in particular that pissed me off. That was a game that had me starting at the very back of a rec field to advance on a small group about a football field away from us. I started at the very outer boundaries and when the ref started the game, I turned and started walking parallel to the fence.

 

About 10 seconds in to the game, I get pelted in the BACK of my head with a fucking paintball! The illustration below clearly illustrates the only logical way this could have happened.

 

paintball
Unless, of course, it was like the magic fucking bullet that killed Kennedy, except a paintball and not a real bullet.

 

Another highlight of the day came when my group faced off against a group of 12 year old boys. When annihilated them. It was a dream come true.

 

After about 3 hours, I called it a day, went home, took a nap and then went to my derby league’s quarterly meeting. I was a little miffed to find I didn’t have to be there because I was on LOA and we had quorum without me, but I got to see some gals I hadn’t seen in a while, so that was nice.

 

All in all, it was a grand weekend full of many different fun activities.

 

In closing, I just want to say, that if I find out who the douchebag was that hit me in the back of the head with a paintball, God have mercy on your soul, because I certainly won’t.

 

Leave a Reply

