Gum in My Hair

An embarrassingly honest blog

The Windy City Trip: Day One February 19, 2010

Filed under: Ooooh, Shiny, Pretty — dulcedementia @ 4:59 pm

Every year, I make it a point to try and get out to Chicago, if only for a long weekend getaway. This year, I was fortunate enough to have Mr. Boyfriend at my side for the trip as well. Chicago is an amazing city, full of diversity, adventure and fun. It is essentially, my ideal city, except for that little weather thing. I won’t lie though, regardless of the weather, every time I visit Chicago, a large part of me considers dropping everything, renting a small studio apartment and waiting tables. I think I get closer every year.


This year was no exception. Grant and I arrived at DIA 2 hours early only to discover that our flight had been delayed by another hour and a half. After some phone calls to my brother (who we were staying with in Chicago), we decided that, since we had time and neither of us had really eaten, we would grab a bite at a sit down place in the airport.


I can’t remember the name of the place, but the food was damned good, as was the beer selection. They actually had bombers! The best part about this fancy steak house was the plastic silverware. It was painted and designed to look like regular flatware, but it was disposable. Apparently, there are some pretty strict regulations about restaurants not having flatware that could be used to hijack a plane or something. But watching people try and eat a steak with a plastic knife was rather humorous.




My brother, Nicky, picked us up from Midway at around 1 in the morning and we were off to his place. This being Grant’s first time in Chicago, Nicky took the scenic drive to his apartment. It was a great drive, seeing the city at night.


The next morning, we were up at around 10 (nothing I love more than sleeping in during vacation) and off to buy a bus pass. If you ever visit Chicago, I recommend get daily passes. They have one, three, seven and 30 day passes and if you are doing a lot of riding around the city, they are a really great deal.




The first place we hit up was Wrigley Field. Of course, it’s closed right now, but I got the requisite photo then we walked around the surprisingly small stadium. A couple times actually. One cool thing about the apartment buildings surrounding the ballpark is that they all have fucking stadium seating on the rooftop. I mean, I hate baseball as much as the next person who hates baseball, but I just think that’s so cool to be able to go up to your roof and watch a game. $7 for watered down beer? How about zero fucking dollars to go to your own fridge and get a good beer that some of your friends brought over in exchange for you letting them sit in your bleachers.




The real reason we went to Wrigley Field was to ice skate. Yeah. Wrigley built a mother fucking ice rink just outside of their stadium. It was awesome. I have wanted to go ice skating with Grant since I started taking lessons and I have to say, he’s a better skater than I was expecting. I thought I might be sort of at his pace, but the guy out skated me plain and simple. Although, I did have some fucked up rental skates. I couldn’t skate on the outside of the left skate’s blade, thus my turns were significantly slowed and any attempt to cross resulted in my ass on the ice. So, I blame the skates for my short comings. It was still fun to race and hip check Grant, though.




After the skating, we met up with my bro, and we made the trek to my Mecca: the Threadless retail store (cue angelic singing). I buy around a shirt a month from threadless.com and I think it’s safe to say I’m hooked on the site. It also solidified my status as most awesomest girlfriend in the world when I bought the boyfriend this shirt.




After I drooled and ooo-ed and aww-ed over the designs and made my purchase, we headed off to Gay Mart. No fucking joke. This place actually exists. I thought it was a nickname for a store, but it’s not. It’s a store that has gay pride paraphernalia paired with various brick a brack such as Star trek bobble head dolls and Futurama pez dispensers. Needless to say, it was a fun store to shop in.


On our way back to the apartment, we stopped at the liquor store for a case of Miller Lite and a six pack of some fancier beer (it’s the spoonful of sugar to help the medicine go down basically) in preparation for playing Drunk Driving Mario Kart with my brother’s roommates. Yeah, my family can turn pretty much anything into a drinking game. Here are the rules:




1. You have to finish your beer before you finish the race.
2. You cannot be touching the controller as you drink.
3. If you finish the race, but not your beer, you automatically lose.




At around 9:30, we decided it was time for food and fun in a setting other than a living room. We headed to Andersonville for the Hopleaf, but upon arrival found it to be packed with an hour and a half wait for dinner service. So we tried our luck walking the streets to see if we could find a different place.


That’s when we happened upon a sign outside of a place called “Andie’s” stating that they had the best Glogg in Andersonville. Curious, we went in, and promptly ordered some Glogg and a Mediterranean dinner. By the way, Glogg is fucking awesome. It’s red wine, brandy and spices served hot in a liqueur glass.




We ended the night in a bar called Simon’s with a very weird draft selection, questionable music on the jukebox and a couch with no middle support beam. It was pretty awesome. We sat by a fake fire and played “Fact or Crap” for an hour or so. The game is basically a True or False quiz that we turned into, of course, a drinking game.




Like I said, we can turn anything into a drinking game.


Stay tuned for Day 2, which will be posted in a much more timely fashion, I promise.

I leave you with the photo of this really, really fake fire.

 

One Response to “The Windy City Trip: Day One”


Leave a Reply

