Gum in My Hair

An embarrassingly honest blog

The Wonder of a Lady’s Heart April 5, 2010

Filed under: Blush Face — dulcedementia @ 10:36 am

This is sort of a rambling post, but it’s a fairly emotional one, so bear with me.


I just had a very dear friend of mine suffer some very serious heartbreak over the course of the last few months. Of course, there were ups and downs, and there were developments. He wanted her back, but she was not interested, then she wanted him back, but he wasn’t interested. It culminated in the revelation that he had started seeing one of their mutual acquaintances. Tale as old as time.


But, I don’t want to dwell on the sadness here. Because as awful as this story is, I don’t think there is a woman in this world who hasn’t had her heart broken in a thousand jagged pieces. And I’m sure the same goes for men too, but, I don’t have a wiener, so I’m only going to talk about my fair sex.


So yeah, we have all felt the bitter sting of unrequited love, but somehow, we always manage to overcome. And that’s just what my beautiful friend started doing last week: reclaiming her heart.


It has just had me in awe of the fact that women are so strong, that we can actually mend our own hearts. Sure, the support of loving friends helps and sometimes a little therapy goes a long way, but ultimately, we are the ones who realize our own self worth and bounce back with amazing resilience. We may tread lightly and cautiously into our next relationship, but we still do it, convinced that we deserve love without having to change who we are. We are certain that that sort of love still exists, even though our history with the feeling has been mixed.


So, for that reason, among many, many others (my lack of heavy perspiration being one of the other big reasons), I am so happy to be a woman.


And I am so happy that my friend is starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

 

2 Responses to “The Wonder of a Lady’s Heart”

  1. Sport Says:

    le little tear. and a big le thanks for being my friend. ❤ you.

  2. Enya Says:

    I am happy too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

