Gum in My Hair

An embarrassingly honest blog

Ghost in the Shower Curtain July 7, 2010

Filed under: Shut Your Mouth! — dulcedementia @ 11:40 am
Tags: ,

I am begging for your advice. Please. Pretty please. I do not know how to solve this problem and it drives me batty every single day for at least 10 minutes.


Like most ladies (and some men, perhaps), I have an outer shower curtain that is cute and bright and just for show since it is made from fabric and not plastic. Since there is an outer curtain, there must be an inner liner, which is what actually does the job of blocking the water from getting all over my bathroom floor.


I typically replace the liner ever 4-6 months once it gets a little grimy and get another cheap liner for about $2-$5. When I moved, I decided to throw away the liner at the old place and get a new one for the new place. Done and done.


However. The water pressure at my new place is fucking maddening. I mean, the showerhead is the type that shoots little water daggers at your body nonstop. Very different from a nice showerhead that lets you actually feels the drops of water as they come out of the head feeling like little drops of cleansing rain.


Essentially, this is what I think of every time I get in the shower:




So, this amount of pressure somehow forces the air under the liner, making it balloon up into the shower until suddenly my own shower curtain is molesting me. The only way to force it back is to kick the air out and sort of stick it to the tub for a few brief, but glorious moments. But then the air forces it back out again.


So now my showers look more like a martial arts routine for epileptics, wherein I bat away at this shower curtain every 30-40 seconds and then it rises back up to attack me like the ghost of an epileptic arch rival.


Please. Do you have any solutions to prevent this curtain ghost from attacking me mercilessly during a time of my day that should be relaxing? Here are other factors you should know.


• I have my bathroom window open to prevent the mirror from fogging up
• For the same reason, occasionally, I will shower with the door open, though that doesn’t seem to have an affect on whether the curtain goes ghost on me or not
• The curtain has three weights in it already, but they do nothing


I am seriously considering attaching washers to the bottom of the curtain by punching a hole and tying them on with string.


Anything to prevent the attack of the shower curtain.

 

6 Responses to “Ghost in the Shower Curtain”

  1. Scott Says:

    I think you can get a shower curtain that has magnets – granted, you need a tub that has metal in it, but I think most old school buildings would have metal tubs.

  2. Lady Crush Says:

    Magnets? My shower curtain liner has 3 weights in the bottom that are actually magnets that cling to the side of the tub. If not that, I think your next plan should be a heavier/thicker overall liner that won’t be spirited away by your aqua death jet.

  3. enyabiznass Says:

    Is there somehow you can weigh it down on the bottom? I know some liners come with magnets sewn in. Maybe just attaching some weight at the bottom will keep it from sucking in on you so much.

  4. Kelly Says:

    I think you need a new shower head to start! Very easy to install and although it might cost some $$ to get a good one you will be a much happier shower lady! As for your crazy liner…I too have fallen victim to this ghostly issue. Best bet? Get a new liner and spend a little more to get the kind with the magnets on the bottom OR go buy some cheap heavy magnet bits and lock yourself in when you shower 🙂

  5. ladysmith Says:

    I agree with the shower head idea. just keep the crappy one under the sink so you can put it back when you leave.
    have you tried the trick where you get water on the back of the liner so it sticks to the tub? I seem to remember that working to keep the curtain stuck to the wall in the dorms.

  6. Jason Says:

    Fuckin magnets. How do they work?


Leave a Reply

