Gum in My Hair

An embarrassingly honest blog

Myst the Game the Movie the Blog October 14, 2010

Filed under: Ooooh, Shiny, Pretty — dulcedementia @ 11:30 am
Tags: , ,

Best. Game. Ever.



I’m not much of a video gamer. Mostly because I have very, very poor hand/eye coordination. Well, let’s face I have very little coordination in general. But I do like to watch. Call it a gamerkink if you want, but I like to watch people play certain video games. Living vicariously through their hands.


Anyway, one of the first and only games I got really hooked on was Myst. I would play for hours and hours. My mom would make me go outside. I was using eye drops on the regular at like 13. Then, as suddenly as it started, it stopped.


But I hold that game very dear to my heart as the one game I truly became addicted to.


Then, I just found out the other day that people have been in talks to make a movie based on the game Myst. And this Penny Arcade comic pretty much sums up exactly how I think the plot would go.




I’m not kidding you, I laugh every time I read this comic because it is SO true.

 

4 Responses to “Myst the Game the Movie the Blog”

  1. Cassie Says:

    OMG, I love this. I conquered Myst at age 11 only partially because I was a super child genius… the other part is I had the strategy book.

  2. Check your Facts Says:

    If you looked at any of the recent press regarding MYST, you’d find that the filmmakers are looking to make the story center The Book of Ti’Ana, which was one of the companion novels in the franchise. In no way shape or form are the filmmakers planning to make a 2 hour movie about solving puzzles on an island. You’d think with your history and your fond memories of the games, you’d have done a little more research and come to the conclusion that, oh wow, they’re going to make this movie so much more than what I’m picturing….

    • dulcedementia Says:

      I actuallly did do my research after I saw the Penny Arcade comic and I’m aware that the movie is based on something other than the game, but this post was meant to be more tongue and cheek than anything. It was my initial reaction. I’ll be interested to see what becomes of the movie, and I’ll always be interested in it. Thanks for your comment!

  3. Ted Says:

    That was the best laugh all day! Totally loved that game, it was mesmerizing! I cheated my way through MYST along with all of its sequels.


Leave a comment