Gum in My Hair

An embarrassingly honest blog

Writing When Everything is Just Fine November 23, 2010

Filed under: No Common Sense — dulcedementia @ 6:47 pm
Tags: , ,

It happens every time. Without fail.


I got through a period of heartbreak or big personal growth, only to find myself snack dab in the middle of contentment and general happiness with my life.


Yeah. It sounds awful, doesn’t it? Well, yeah, I know, it’s not. But there is one downside to all this “everything’s coming up roses” attitude I have on life right now: I find it nearly impossible to write.


Most of my writing experience thus far has either been commercial or completely personal, where I just spit words out onto a page and post this shit. Now, I can do commercial writing for forever; just give me a topic, I’ll write about it. But the problem I’m facing right now is a general malaise when it comes to growth in my personal writing.


Just. Fucking. Write. You TWAT!



Every morning, I wake up and I think, “Ok, so you don’t have any truly amazing revelations and you don’t have anything deeply personal you want to muse about, but dammit, Kelly, you still have to write!”


So I brainstorm on the walk to work. I thought about writing about the whole TSA thing going on right now, but then I would just be one blog in a haze of other, cleverer blogs ranting about the same thing. So I let the task of writing that day slip through my fingers.


And honestly, I’m kind of feeling a little bit private right now. I’m working out a lot of the kinks in my life, slowly but surely. I have nothing much to complain about. I have amazing friends and family and have found activities that nourish me. Hell, even my appetite is back on track.


I know some of you want to give me a running bitch slap right now, but suck it up. Life ebbs and flows and some of you may be going through a rough patch and some of you may not. Just know you’ll probably switch positions in a few months. If not, jeebus, let a sister know and I’ll do whatever I can to turn that frown upside down.


I digress. My point is, I’ve found it increasingly harder to write the better my mood gets. I’m not sure how to overcome this hurdle, but I definitely want to. I don’t want to have to be a mopey sad sack in order to write well. And I certainly don’t want to have to give up writing in order to be happy.


Any writers out there that have solutions to making themselves write when they just don’t seem to have any inspiration at all?

 

5 Responses to “Writing When Everything is Just Fine”

  1. nate Says:

    I’m hardly a pro, but there’s always journaling or creative writing exercises like free writing. Natalie Goldberg’s Writing Down the Bones and Wild Mind have tons of great ideas, and I hear good things about Lynda Barry’s new book too (What is it or something like that). Anyway, some of that can uncover angst you never knew you had! 🙂

  2. Lady Crush Says:

    Oh, Kelly. I much prefer reading about the good things happening in your life than your suffering. Misery only loves company if the company is some douchecanoe who deserved what he got. I’ll be saving my running bitch slap for someone who earns it.

  3. enyabiznass Says:

    I haven’t been able to write either. But probably for opposite reasons. I have no idea what the solution is beyond forcing yourself to just spit something out and move forward.

  4. msodaro Says:

    The poetry I write comes, as you mention, from times of chaos and heartbreak…when things are calm I can’t write anything that doesn’t sound like it belongs in a Dr. Seuss book. But to help with not writing at all…I always have multiple projects that I am working on at any one given time. I have a primary one that I focus on the most diligently…and then I have other ones that I dabble with. I also have a binder of writing prompts that if I am completely stuck, I open and point to a random prompt and then I write. Anything to get the pen (or pencil) to paper and get the words flowing again. Judy Reeves Writer’s Book of Days is full of goodies.

  5. ladysmith Says:

    The War of Art comes highly recommended, but I have to admit it’s still sitting on my nightstand as I suddenly had a bout of not being able to stay awake in the evenings (can’t imagine why 😉 ).
    But, for what it’s worth, I think your recaps are quite entertaining, and if you stayed in, I’m sure we’d all be interested to know how you spent you alone time. Any tips on maximizing me-time? Any reflections on whatever you watched/vegged out to while enjoying your alone time? Find a new dog park/toy? Try a new beverage/recipe/way to make grilled cheese?

    Don’t pressure yourself to have amazing revelations or deeply personal posts. Hell, don’t even worry if half a million other people are writing about the same topic. I’m not reading their work, I’m reading yours, and at any rate I care a whole hell of a lot more about what you have to say/what your thoughts are on _____ than some rando.

    it’s kinda of like when an attempt was made to strong arm me out of creating a site just because they “had been working on something similar for years.” I was intimidated at first, but then I got determined that it didn’t matter how many similar sites were out there, I was going to do mine with my vision and see what happened (I’m not making money, but that was never the goal and I’m getting decent traffic). I looked at it like bars, sure there are a bajillion bars in town, but different people go to different ones for different reasons.
    this ain’t Highlander, there can be MORE THAN one.


Leave a Reply

