Gum in My Hair

An embarrassingly honest blog

Insomnia, My Old Friend December 7, 2010

Filed under: No Common Sense — dulcedementia @ 1:17 pm
Tags: , ,

It’s noon. I’m caffeinated to the brim. My hands are shaking, my mind is zooming around corners and it’s all due to the fact that I got 3 ½ hours of sleep last night.


But, you know, lately, this isn’t really that odd. Somehow, between August and now, I fell into a habit of insomnia and rather than try and fight it with medicine or going to bed earlier, I’ve ended up doing the opposite. I now occupy my mind as much as I can through the night until my body literally cannot hold itself up any longer because it’s so exhausted.


When I tell my coworkers or new friends what time I went to bed and what time I woke up, I get this appalled look from them, like I’m absolutely crazy for only averaging 4-5 hours of sleep a night.


But, really, all I can think is, how do people get anything done when they go to bed at a reasonable time?


I mean, you get off work at 5, maybe 5:30. Then come home, and what, eat dinner, watch a few shows and then go to bed at 10?


My mind cannot comprehend how you get anything done! I mean, I get home at 5:30 or so, walk the dog, then either go to a yoga class or, if I have time, I’ll make some food beforehand. If I don’t have yoga, chances are I have plans with a friend. If I have neither, then it’s Netflix time! I’ll watch a couple episodes of whatever TV series I’ve got, detect a slight rumble in my stomach at 9 and start making food.


Then the internets. Oooooh, internets. I’ll spend hours on here. Writing emails, roaming various sites. I’ll listen to music, clean, do laundry. In the next few weeks, I’ll probably be crafting my ass off for Christmas. How am I going to get all of that stuff done by 10?


The answer is, I’m not.


At first, I fought the insomnia. I tried to force myself to go to sleep. I would lay in bed at 10. Stare at the ceiling until midnight, getting progressively angrier as the hours ticked by. I took pills at 9 pm. I stopped drinking caffeine at 2 pm. Nothing worked.


So fuck it, now I just get a ton done at night and I sleep like a coma victim on the weekends.


I’ll sleep when I’m dead, right?

 

4 Responses to “Insomnia, My Old Friend”

  1. Sister Mary Superego Says:

    Why would you do this to yourself on purpose, you whacko? This is what my entire semester has been like, and it’s terrible. It started out funny. I would be dead tired from Sunday-Wednesday, getting about 4-5 hours of sleep a night, and then slap-happy on Thursday. It took me a while to figure out why Thursday was always the most hilarious day of work. I slept on Fridays and Saturdays then started it all over again. After a few months, though, it turned bad. I became a miserable shell of a human being. I can’t wait till next Wednesday, when I finally get a month off from insomnia and get to be a normal person again. You need sleep, dear. Soon your body will just give in and you won’t have a choice anymore. You may not get as much done, but you’ll be a whole lot happier doing it. I promise. 🙂

    • dulcedementia Says:

      But see, I’m not unhappy. I was for a while back in August, but I’m not having problems with it anymore. I’ve accepted it and learned to deal with it.

  2. theVar Says:

    I have the same affliction. Sleeping at night is truly overrated. I like your approach, though. If you can’t sleep, you might as well get shit done when the world stops moving. I find that I’m able to think clearer when everyone else is counting sheep and shooting ’em.

    I made that last part up. Not sure why they’d be shooting them. Unless the sleepers are badass, sheep killing, niglets in their dreams.


Leave a Reply

