Gum in My Hair

An embarrassingly honest blog

The Poetry of Street Art March 4, 2011

Filed under: Ooooh, Shiny, Pretty — dulcedementia @ 3:44 pm
Tags: , , ,

Most people use their camera phones to take pictures of themselves or friends or goofy cereal boxes. I’m glad for the invention of camera phones for one reason and one reason alone: graffiti. Yeah, street art. I love it. I love the thrill of spotting a new “installation” on the corner or the smile it gives me to see blatant acts of intelligence and wit sprawled out on cement for everyone to see.

The photo file on my phone is quickly filling up with posters and spray-painted artwork and, though I share a lot of the finds on a site called Unseen Denver (if you don’t know, now you know, now go!), I want to showcase some of my favorites here for all to see the great street art you can find around Denver if you just keep your head up and actually look at your surroundings. I’ve noted the locations as best as I can remember. Some of these are over a year old.

I totally love Denver too! By the Rose Medical Center

This is by far one of my favorites. RTD Bus Stop at Colorado & 9th

9th & Grant

This is actually chalk and it was gone in a couple days. 12th & Logan

11th & Grant

On the side wall at Benny's Mexican Restaurant. 7th & Grant

12th & Penn

I love the way spray paint runs. 12th & Washington (I believe)

This was over by City Park. I DID have a fabulous day after I saw it.

13th & Lincoln

Alleyway between Penn & Pearl on 11th.

 

Near the Whole Foods on 11th.

On the guard rail at 13th & Penn.

 

One Response to “The Poetry of Street Art”

  1. enyabiznass Says:

    I love this stuff too. Always a fun surprise. I have some nice ones somewhere on Facebook. I’ll have to find those again.


Leave a Reply

