Gum in My Hair

An embarrassingly honest blog

What Happened to Art Class? April 19, 2011

Filed under: Shut Your Mouth! — dulcedementia @ 11:33 am
Tags: , ,

This morning I went to a bi-weekly tech meeting/Apple circle jerk and heard the news that an Auburn, Maine elementary school is getting all of their kindergartners iPad 2s. Then, after talking with another friend this morning, I learned that the Denver School of Science and Technology is getting rid of all of their art teachers. Yes. I realize that nowhere in the school’s name does it mention art, but still. Come on.


Maybe I’m the only one who feels this way, but I feel like children may be missing vital arts experience in schools in exchange for more and more technology in the curriculum.


After writing that sentence, I think I just uttered my generation’s “walking uphill to school both ways” clause.


For realsies though, while I think it’s great that 20 kindergartners will get to smudge up an iPad for a year (if those things can even withstand the abuse of a 6 year old for an entire year), I do wonder what programs got passed over for this to become a reality. Did the music program get passed over for new sheet music once again? Did the art class get denied its request for better easels? Did other important arts programs get passed over yet again so that children that are at an age when they can barely write can get technology that some adults lack the dexterity to control?


Think what you want, but the arts played such a critical role in my development that the thought of these departments getting passed over yet again, or even completely eliminated so that schools can get kids the latest and greatest tech (that will just be outdated in a year anyway) really, really pisses me off.


I’m no Luddite, but goddammit, can we please keep the arts grounded in the real world instead of virtual space?

 

7 Responses to “What Happened to Art Class?”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Wait… kids aren’t supposed to be video-game zombies that live and breath for attention on Facebook and new gadgets that help them thwart any possibility of actual interation with humans? *snort*

    • dulcedementia Says:

      Right? I had a TV time allowance when I was growing up. After an hour of TV, I had to go play games inside or outside.

  2. Kelly Noble Says:

    I cannot speak high enough for the importance of the arts for young minds. It should be required in every school not taken away. People do not realize that art is a fantastic tool for developing the minds of our youth as well as dealing with common childhood stresses and learning difficulties. I personally have a learning disability (dyslexia) which I was diagnosed with when I was in 1st grade. It was with the help of a fantastic and dedicated teacher mixed with a large range of artistic outlets that I was able to overcome my disability.

    It is a proven fact that art helps children with learning disabilities but it also opens up their minds to be creative people who will go on to be more successful.

    So sad that so many people can not see the value in that!

  3. Liz Says:

    While I see a need for introducing evolving technologies to youth at an early age, I absolutely agree that art experiences must be maintained in our schools. With the exception of very unique circumstances, a six year old has no need for an iPad. Or a cell phone for that matter.

    It will be a sad day when kids don’t know the satisfaction of completing a good painting/arts & craft project. Thank you for highlighting the importance of art in youth development!

    • dulcedementia Says:

      It’s so important for children to experience “the feel” of the world around them. It’s why technology being added to the curriculum so early really worries me.

  4. kelly'spop Says:

    I’m thinking that we should concentrate on teaching the three R’s. Once that is accomplished, if it ever will be again, then (and only then) should the curriculum be expanded.


Leave a Reply

