Gum in My Hair

An embarrassingly honest blog

Perception vs. Reality November 9, 2011

Filed under: Blush Face — dulcedementia @ 4:28 pm
Tags: , ,

Lately, there seems to be this rumor going around that I’m always busy, busy, busy. Well, yes, in the evenings I do have a lot of activities that I enjoy and that tends to be what people hear about, but I just wanted to let you in on this little lesson I learned back a few jobs ago about perception versus reality.

I was working for a startup and we hadn’t set core hours yet, so I would come in at around 9:30 or 10 most days, but I would stay until around 9 pm, working well over 9 hours most days. The problem was, no one else was stating that late, so everyone thought I was slacking off and some people were complaining that I wasn’t working as hard as everyone else simply based on the fact that the saw me saunter in at 10 am most days.

So, my boss and I had a heart to heart (it was touching, really) and he told me all about success and perception versus reality. I took the lesson to heart and started making sure that I was there about 10 minutes before most people in the mornings and that I stayed about 10 minutes later than most people. Guess what? Suddenly, everyone was impressed with how hard I was working! When, in fact, I was doing no more work than they were, I was just a criminal mastermind.

So, without further ado, the perception of my life to just about everyone I know casually (and also proof of why I am a copywriter and not a fucking art director or pretty much anything that requires any perception of depth or photo editing skills):


Christ. This is just shameful, lazy photo editing.



And the reality of about the 12 of the 17 hours I am awake most days (including the weekends):


Thanks to ragemaker.net for making me look like I know how to make a cartoon.



You don’t have to feel sorry for me. Just know that, since I work from home and have to obey little to no social mores, I probably drool a lot more than the average employee.

 

One Response to “Perception vs. Reality”

  1. Kate G Says:

    I love reading your blog! I’m glad you’re writing in it again.


Leave a Reply

